Lead SCADA Security Exam and Certification

The “PECB Certified SCADA Professional” credential is a professional certification for professionals needing to demonstrate the competence to implement, maintain and manage effective programs to protect SCADA systems.
Unlike other certifications, this course focuses specifically on the knowledge and skills needed by a professional looking to advice on, or manage risks related to SCADA environments and systems. Given the high profile nature, and the significant impacts associated with such environments, a holistic professional approach to security is needed and that is exactly what this course is designed to provide.
Various professions may apply for this certification:

  • Security professionals wanting to gain SCADA security professional skills
  • IT staff looking to enhance their technical skills and knowledge
  • IT and Risk Managers seeking a more detailed understanding of ICS and SCADA systems
  • SCADA system developers
  • SCADA Engineers and Operators
  • SCADA IT personnel
Credential Exam Professional experience SCADAMS project experience Other requirements
Lead SCADA Security Professional PECB Certified Lead SCADA Exam or equivalent Five years: Two years of related work experience Project activities totaling 300 hours Signing the PECB code of ethics
SCADA Security Professional PECB Certified Lead SCADA Exam or equivalent Two years: One year of related work experience Project activities totaling 200 hours Signing the PECB code of ethics
Provisional SCADA Security Professional PECB Certified Lead SCADA Exam or equivalent Signing the PECB code of ethics

For certification purposes, the following outsourcing activities constitute valid experience:

  1. Internal implementation and/or management of SCADA processes
  2. External/consulting implementation and/or management of security programs for SCADA systems
  3. Partial implementation and/or management of SCADA systems

To be considered valid, the SCADA assessment activities should follow best implementation practices and include significant part of the following activities:

  1. Understanding an organization and its context
  2. Defining a SCADA approach
  3. Selecting of a SCADA methodology
  4. Defining SCADA criteria
  5. Identification of assets, threats, existing controls, vulnerabilities and consequences (impacts)
  6. Assessing of consequences
  7. Determining the level of security programs in SCADA systems
  8. Evaluating SCADA system scenarios
  9. Evaluating SCADA system treatment options
  10. Selecting and implementing controls
  11. Performing a SCADA  review

Professional references
Professional references must be from individuals who have professionally worked with you and can validate your SCADA management expertise, current and previous work history, as well as your job performance. You cannot use anyone as a reference who falls under your supervision or is a relative. At least three professional references are required (candidates can input up to a maximum of five references).
Professional experience
Complete information is required: including job title, begin dates, end dates, responsibilities and more. Summarize each assignment, providing sufficient detail to describe the nature of the responsibilities that you had. This information can be detailed in your resume.
Denial and Revocation of Certification
Certification will be denied or revoked for any of the following reasons:

  • Falsification of application
  • Violation of testing procedures
  • Misrepresentation
  • Failure to pass the examination

Denials or revocations of certification may be appealed to the Certification Board in writing.
Annual Renewal Certification Fee
To maintain your credentials active, there is an annual renewal fee for each calendar year. Registrants who pay their annual renewal fee will appear online in the PECB Directory of Certified Professional.
Maintain your Certification (Recertification)
The PECB designations are valid for three years. To maintain your certification, you must have accumulated the necessary 90 Continuing Professional Development credits (CPD) by the end of that three-year period and pay the recertification fee. CPD hours need to be inputted in your online PECB profile. PECB certified professionals who fail to provide the required CPD hours will have their PECB credentials revoked and will no longer be allowed to present themselves as certified PECB professionals.